On July 6th, 2010, ANSWERLA staged a rally in front of the Federal Building in Los Angeles to protest the IDF’s raid in the Gaza flotilla. As I expected, much of the rhetoric was one sided and composed of words most at the rally didn’t know the definition of. Words like “apartheid.”

When I got there I discovered that the protesters had yet to show up. So, while waiting, I decided to take a few pictures of the veterans memorial across the street.

After a while, the organizers finally arrived and began setting up a table, speakers, a microphone, and signs and banners.

Before long people began showing up with their own signs.

The protesters with the signs and Palestinian flags lined up along the sidewalk along traffic. Though they didn’t receive as many supportive honks as Israel supporters at the rally last month, they did get a few.

Here’s are some of the more interesting posters:

Just so you know Villaraigosa is Mayor of Los Angeles. I have no clue what he has to do with Israel.

Of course there are also the baseless accusations that Israel is performing apartheid.

A common running theme at these kinds of protests that I’ve noticed is a generalization against all Israelis. A generalization that borders on racism.

There were also a few people with Turkish flags:

Some of the posters at this certain rally were also highly graphic. It’s a common tactic in order to incite other peoples emotions. Thought frankly I find it kind of manipulative.  Honestly I wasn’t sure what surprised me more: the fact that the posters were incredibly violent or the fact that there were children amongst the protesters.

(Note: I realize some might not seem as violent as I stated but I withheld some of the images so I don’t get flagged. I might post them later.)

So is it 765 or 865? Make sure you get your numbers right before trying to make a statement.

Of course what’s a protest without Richard Levik tagging along…………. again. Here a reporter from ABC 7 is giving him an interview.

While I was filming Levik arguing with a anti-Israel protester I noticed a young individual with an Israeli flag entering the area he tried to cross the street but before he could the protest organizers quickly surrounded him and began hassling him. One of the organizers by the name of Douglas Kauffman told him to get “that racist flag out of here,” while another in a red shirt told him that I was the reason he wasn’t getting his “ass beat” since I was filming.”

After, he managed to finally cross the street one of the protesters began arguing with the organizers on how the handled the situation. It revealed the rift between the more radical protesters and those who were more inclined to be moderate or pro-peace. Here’s the video of the debacle:

Also, near the end of the situation a guy came out of no where and inquired on to what was going on. He also left an interesting message at the end of the video.

Leave a Reply

